Publicado: Jue, Diciembre 05, 2019
Deportes | Por Godofredo Marrero

Qatar Drawn in Group B at Copa America 2020

Qatar Drawn in Group B at Copa America 2020

Argentina's opening match of the 2020 Copa America will be against Chile on June 12 at the Monumental stadium.

That means the Socceroos will play their five group stages matches in Argentina against the two-time World Cup champions, as well as Uruguay, Chile, Bolivia and Paraguay. In the next year's battle, Scaloni's men will also face Uruguay, Paraguay, Australia and Bolivia in Group A after their opening match against Chile.

Group B will be hosted by Colombia and is headlined by holders Brazil, alongside Venezuela, Ecuador and Peru and second invited participants Qatar.

The Copa America first began in 1916, and Uruguay holds the mantle of the most trophies raised with 15. Brazil will go into the tournament as defending champions after their success at home this year.

Brendan Rodgers to Arsenal? Leicester City boss hints at release clause
The club have made tentative enquiries, but have been given the message that Rodgers is happy at Leicester and is going nowhere. It seems now you're talking about managers losing their jobs all the time and looking to be replaced.

The 12-team tournament, which runs from June 12 to July 12, will be co-hosted, for the first time, by Colombia and Argentina.

The Selecao beat Peru 3-1 in the 2019 Copa America final having also seen off Argentina and Paraguay on their way to the decider. After losing back-to-back Copa America finals to La Roja on penalties, Argentina will reignite their rivalry with the 2015 and 2016 champions.

Argentina have not won the tournament since 1993 while Colombia have lifted the trophy only once - when they hosted it in 2001.

Messi will be hoping his nation can lift the trophy again next year as the 2019 Ballon d'Or victor looks to secure some long awaited success with the national team.

Me gusta esto: