Publicado: Mar, Marcha 13, 2018
Global | Por Milagro Delgado

Pakistan opposition candidate elected Senate chairman

Pakistan opposition candidate elected Senate chairman

PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari welcomed the proposal of PTI chief that future Senate chairman should be from Balochistan and gave his assent to the choice of Balochistan group, which has already given the names of Anwar Kakar and Sadiq Sanjrani for chairman slot and suggested giving the slot of deputy chairman to the PPP.

In another blow to the ruling PML-N and its allies, PPP's Saleem Mandviwalla was elected as the deputy chairman and was sworn in by Senate Chairman Sadiq Sajrani.

(Web Desk) - Backed by joint opposition Sadiq Sanjrani won the Senate election for chairman with as many as 57 votes against the ruling party's candidate, Raja Zafarul Haq, who secured 46 votes.

The majority party Pakistan Muslim League - Nawaz (PML-N) and its allies National Party (NP), Pashtunkhwa Awami Party (Pk-MAP), PML- Functional and Awami National Party have agreed on nomination of Pk-MAP's Usman Kakar as deputy chairman.

Nasar also administered oath to Sanjrani who immediately took the seat and announced to conduct the elections of deputy chairman.

And, the party leaders are making hectic efforts to win over the support of smaller parties and independents to achieve the figure of 53, the magic number required to clinch the top Senate slots. His candidature was backed by the PPP and the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI). "Not only will we support Sanjrani, we will support him throughout". The chairman represents both the opposition and treasury benches. Five senators did not cast their votes.

Oposición retoma manifestaciones para exigir a ONU no supervisar elecciones
El candidato a las elecciones presidenciales , Henri Falcón, buscará reunirse con el secretario general de la ONU , António Guterres , para tratar el tema de la misión electoral para los comicios del 20 de mayo, informó hoy su partido, Avanzada Progresista (AP).

The first had been the swearing in of Senator Krishna Kohli earlier in the day, Dawn news reported.

Live footage aired on local broadcaster Express News showed the government and the opposition supporters shouting chants and thrashing each other as soon as the presiding officer, senator Yaqoob Khan Nasir, announced the results. Senators were then invited to sign the member rolls.

Half of the senators are elected for six years, and half for three years.

Only Finance Minister Ishaq Dar did not take the oath as he is undergoing medical treatment in London and his election as a senator is being contested in the apex court.

Speaking to the media, outgoing chairman Raza Rabbani dispelled the impression of disagreements within the PPP and said that he stands with his party.

But Asif Ali Zardari, co-president of the PPP and ex-president of the country, dismissed the idea. "Everyone has a right to their opinion", Rabbani said.

Me gusta esto: